At LIMR, safety is a priority in all aspects of our research. There are two committees within LIMR that oversee laboratory safety, the Biosafety/Recombinant DNA Committee (BRDC) and the Chemical/General Safety Committee. These groups develop, implement, and coordinate the laboratory and biological safety programs for all of LIMR’s research laboratories. In addition, radiation safety is coordinated with the Lankenau Medical Center Radiation Safety Committee.

The BRDC oversees research involving recombinant DNA, pathogenic organisms, and/or human or non-human primate derived materials (e.g., cell lines, tissues, fluid). Additionally, the Committee oversees all projects involving infectious agents (RG-2 and 3) and certain toxins, which are on the CDC Select agents list.

It is the responsibility of the Investigator to submit the proposed research to the BRDC for approval before the research has begun. You may not start your research until your protocol has been reviewed and approved by the BRDC.

Members of the Biosafety/Recombinant DNA Committee:

  • Matt Finley, PhD, Chair
  • James M. Mullin, Ph.D. , Professor
  • Gan-Xin Yan, M.D., Ph.D., Professor
  • Eric Alexander, PhD, Research Assistant Professor
  • Michael P. McCann, Ph.D. , Non-Institutional Member
  • Janice Knepper, Ph.D, Non-Institutional Member
  • Judith Daviau, DVM, Veterinary Consultant 
  • Bevin Dolan, M.D. , Infectious Disease
  • James DuHadaway, Alternate IBC Member
  • Gwendolyn Gilliard, Alternate IBC Member
  • John Laughlin, Research Annex Supervisor
  • Ann Jonik, Receiving Clerk/Glasswash Tech
  • Christopher Barmes
  • Jack Medendorp, MS, BSN, RN, CIP

The Chemical/General Safety Committee assists principal investigators in providing training on general laboratory safety and overseeing the use of chemicals.

Members of the Chemical/General Safety Committee:

  • Robert Cox, PhD, Professor, Chair
  • James DuHadaway, Research Laboratory Associate
  • Ann Jonik, Technician
  • John Laughlin, Research Annex Supervisor
  • Gwen Gilliard, Research Institute Assistant (non-voting)


  • Jack Medendorp, MS, BSN, RN, CIP, Director, Office of Research Protections (non-voting)

Policies, procedures and training