News & Updates

Back to All News
Get Care

Main Line Health hospitals receive AACN Beacon Awards for Excellence

Main Line Health September 13, 2016 News Releases

The Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit (CTICU) at Lankenau Medical Center and the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at Paoli Hospital, both part of Main Line Health, received the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) Beacon Award for Excellence. Paoli’s ICU was awarded their second gold-level award, and Lankenau’s CTICU received their second silver-level award. The three-year award (2016–19) recognizes caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s healthy work environment standards. Paoli’s ICU, along with the ICU at Riddle Hospital, also part of Main Line Health, are two of only six currently-designated Gold Beacon units in the state.

“The Beacon Award is one of the most respected awards among the nursing profession, and is a direct reflection of our ICU staff’s superior patient outcomes,” says Matthew Magargal, vice president of patient care services, Paoli Hospital. “Their dedication to working as a team to provide evidence-based, high-quality care has led them to receive this prominent designation for the second time, and I am incredibly proud.”

“This award highlights our staff’s excellence in professional practice, patient care and outcomes, and is a true demonstration of their teamwork,” says Margie Iacobacci, vice president of patient care services, Lankenau Medical Center. “The CTICU staff has worked together diligently to provide a superior experience in every facet of patient care.”

Recipients of a Gold and Silver Beacon Award demonstrate excellence in sustained unit performance and patient outcomes that exceed national benchmarks. Each unit earned their award by meeting the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership structures and systems
  • Appropriate staffing and staff engagement
  • Effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development
  • Evidence-based practice and processes
  • Outcome measurement

Other Beacon Award recipients across Main Line Health include:

  • Bryn Mawr Hospital
    • Intensive Care Unit – Silver-Level Beacon Award (June 2016–19)
    • Neuro-Cardiac Intensive Care Unit – Silver-Level Beacon Award (March 2015–18)
  • Paoli Hospital
    • Progressive Care Unit – Silver-Level Beacon Award (September 2015–18)
  • Riddle Hospital
    • Intensive Care Unit – Gold-Level Beacon Award (January 2014–17)

About the Beacon Award for Excellence

Established in 2003 by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. or Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. To learn more, visit aacn.org/beacon or call 1.800.899.2226. AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, representing the interests of more than 500,000 nurses who are charged with the responsibility of caring for acutely and critically ill patients. The association is dedicated to providing members with the knowledge and resources necessary to provide optimal care to critically ill patients.

About Main Line Health

Founded in 1985,Main Line Health is a not-for-profit health system serving portions of Philadelphia and its western suburbs. Main Line Health’s commitment—to deliver advanced medicine to treat and cure disease while also playing an important role in prevention and disease management as well as training physicians and other health care providers—reflects our intent to keep our community and ourselves well ahead. A team of more than 10,000 employees and 2,000 physicians care for patients throughout the Main Line Health system.

At Main Line Health’s core are four of the region’s most respected acute care hospitals—Lankenau Medical Center, Bryn Mawr Hospital, Paoli Hospital and Riddle Hospital—as well as one of the nation’s recognized facilities for rehabilitative medicine, Bryn Mawr Rehabilitation Hospital.

Main Line Health also includes Mirmont Treatment Center for drug and alcohol recovery; Main Line Health HomeCare & Hospice, which includes skilled home health care, hospice and home infusion services; Main Line Health Centers, primary and specialty care, lab and radiology, and other outpatient services located in Broomall, Collegeville, Concordville, Exton, King of Prussia and Newtown Square; Lankenau Institute for Medical Research, a biomedical research organization; and Main Line HealthCare,one of the region’s largest multispecialty physician networks.

Main Line Health is the recipient of numerous awards for quality care and service, including System Magnet® designation, the nation’s highest distinction for nursing excellence and the Mid-Atlantic Alliance for Performance Excellence (MAAPE) Excellence Award. Main Line Health is committed to creating an environment of diversity, respect and inclusion and has proudly embraced the American Hospital Association’s #123forEquity Pledge to Act to eliminate disparities in care. We are dedicated to advancing patient-centered care, education and research to help our community stay healthy.