News & Updates

Back to All News
Get Care

Paoli Hospital’s Progressive Care Unit (PCU) receives AACN Silver-Level Beacon Award for Excellence

Main Line Health September 30, 2015 News Releases

(Paoli, PA) – The Progressive Care Unit (PCU) at Paoli Hospital, part of Main Line Health, received the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) 2015 silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence. The three-year award (2015–18) recognizes caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s Healthy Work Environment Standards. The unit is the only PCU in Pennsylvania to receive the silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence, and is one of only 25 currently designated Beacon units in the state.

“This recognition is a true reflection of the hard work and dedication of the entire PCU staff,” says Jan Nash, Vice President of Patient Care Services, Paoli Hospital. “Their teamwork and commitment to providing evidence-based, superior care has led them to this prominent designation, and I couldn’t be more proud.”

The silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence signifies continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care. Paoli Hospital’s PCU earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

The AACN will honor Paoli’s PCU and other awardees at the National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition, the world’s largest educational conference and trade show for nurses who care for acutely and critically ill patients and their families.

Other Beacon Award recipients from across Main Line Health include:

  • Bryn Mawr Hospital
    • Intensive Care Unit – Silver-Level Beacon Award for 2013–16
    • Neuro-Cardiac Intensive Care Unit – Silver-Level Beacon Award for 2015–18
  • Paoli Hospital
    • Intensive Care Unit – Gold-Level Beacon Award for 2013–16
  • Riddle Hospital
    • Intensive Care Unit – Gold-Level Beacon Award for 2014–17

About the Beacon Award for Excellence

Established in 2003 by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. or Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement.

To learn more, visit aacn.org/beacon or call 800.899.2226. AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, representing the interests of more than 500,000 nurses who are charged with the responsibility of caring for acutely and critically ill patients. The association is dedicated to providing members with the knowledge and resources necessary to provide optimal care to critically ill patients.

About Paoli Hospital

Paoli Hospital, a member of Main Line Health, is a 231-bed, not-for-profit acute care hospital and Regional Trauma Center with outpatient facilities in Exton and Collegeville. Paoli has been ranked by U.S. News & World Report as high performing in the following areas: abdominal aortic aneurysm repair, geriatrics, knee replacement, orthopaedics, pulmonology and urology. Paoli is a multi-year recipient of the Premier “Award for Quality” and Truven Health Analytics’ 100 Top Hospitals® for providing superior patient care, and has earned Magnet® designation for the third time for its superior nursing staff.