Understanding Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML)

Because different types of leukemia cells behave differently, they require different types of treatment. Leukemia is considered to be either acute or chronic, depending upon how fast the cells grow without therapy. And it's either lymphocytic or myeloid, depending upon the type of white blood cell that has turned into leukemia. By looking at these factors, most cases of leukemia can be classified into one of four main types of leukemia.  Acute myeloid leukemia (AML) is one of these types. It's a rapidly growing type.

Types of Leukemia

Here are various types of leukemia. The first four are the most common.

  • Acute myeloid leukemia (AML)

  • Acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL)

  • Chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)

  • Chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML)

  • Hairy cell leukemia

  • Plasma cell leukemia

  • Prolymphocytic leukemia

  • Leukemic phase of lymphoma

More About Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML)

Acute myeloid leukemia (AML) is a type of cancer in which the bone marrow makes abnormal myeloblasts. They do not mature into healthy white blood cells. AML may also make abnormal red blood cells or platelets.

AML is the second most common form of leukemia in adults. Your risk for getting this type of leukemia increases as you get older. If you've had therapy for other types of cancer, you may develop it as a late side effect. AML is a very aggressive cancer if left untreated. But if treated with chemotherapy right away, doctors can cure some types of AML, especially in people who are younger.


Copyright 2014 Main Line Health

Printed from: www.mainlinehealth.org/stw/Page.asp?PageID=STW016607

The information provided in this Web site is for informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for medical advice. All medical information presented should be discussed with your healthcare professional. See additional Terms of Use at www.mainlinehealth.org/terms. For more information, call 1.866.CALL.MLH.