Understanding Your Diagnosis

  1. I’ve Just Been Told I Have Stomach Cancer
  2. Stages of Stomach Cancer
  3. Barium Swallow

    During this procedure, a mixture of barium and water is swallowed just before an x-ray. The barium is used to highlight damage or abnormalities in the upper gastrointestinal tract, including the pharnyx, esophagus, stomach, and duodenum.

  4. Biopsy

    Detailed information on biopsy, including the most common types of biopsy such as endoscopic biopsy, bone marrow biopsy, excisional biopsy, incisional biopsy, fine needle aspiration biopsy, punch biopsy, shave biopsy, and skin biopsy

  5. Can I Survive Stomach Cancer? What Is My Prognosis?
  6. Esophagogastroduodenoscopy

    Detailed information on esophagogastroduodenoscopy, including the reasons and preparation for the procedure, how the procedure is performed, after care, and an anatomical illustration of the digestive system

  7. Everything You Need to Know About a Fecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT)
  8. How Does My Doctor Know I Have Stomach Cancer?
  9. How Your Doctor Uses Biopsies to Diagnose Stomach Cancer
  10. Tests That Help Evaluate Stomach Cancer
  11. Upper Gastrointestinal Series

    An upper gastrointestinal series (UGI) is an x-ray examination of the upper gastrointestinal (GI) tract, including the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum.

Connect with MLH

New Appointments

 Well Ahead Newsletter


Copyright 2014 Main Line Health

Printed from: www.mainlinehealth.org/stw/Page.asp?GroupID=STWG02053

The information provided in this Web site is for informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for medical advice. All medical information presented should be discussed with your healthcare professional. See additional Terms of Use at www.mainlinehealth.org/terms. For more information, call 1.866.CALL.MLH.